Weathertunes - "Characters"

Release:  2001
Label: Peacelounge Recordings
Catalogue number: peal 001
Note:  The CDs are new and unused but not factory sealed !

The project Weathertunes was born in the year 1999, and their first album „Characters“ was recorded and produced in Daniel and Roland Voss’ own studio in the Northwestern part of Germany. It was originally released on label Peacelounge Recordings in 2001 and was re-released on the Voss brothers’ own label Lemongrassmusic in MP3 format in 2013.


The 16 smoothly mixed tracks sound like the result of one long session: The vocal tracks “Closer” and “This Summer’s Fall” (voice: Daniel) seem to exude a vibrant atmosphere between lounge-feeling and the warmth of a campfire, and the warm, relaxing sound of “Taranta” feels like the acoustic equivalent of a seaside sundowner.

But Weathertunes have a few more aces up their sleeves: “Driftwood” comes in the shape of a somewhat avantgardistic dub track, and the easy breakbeats in “Space Love”, “Local Bridge” and “From The Bottom” are reminiscent of a sheer elegance.
On „Holidays“ the brothers have collaborated with Jazz guitarist Michael Arlt for the first time which marked the beginning of a long and fruitful relationship.


The album’s magic is based on the symbiotic relationship of two very different musical egos: the “big” brother Roland with over 20 years of experience as a jazz drummer and well over a decade of electronic music under his belt, and the younger one, Daniel who grew up on a diet of alternative rock, punk, pop and classical music – they complement one another like two ends of the same rainbow.


Meanwhile the project has revealed 6 longplayer albums and 2 EPs and is being well appreciated in many countires worldwide.



 1. Luna 2

 2. Oui

 3. Space Love

 4. Holidays

 5. Closer

 6. Driftwood

 7. Taranta

 8. Stand Still

 9. Local Bridge

10. From The Bottom

11. T’Ears

12. Seven Years

13. Closer (J-Mix)

14. This Summer´s Fall

15. Weakness


12,95 €

  • Available
  • Ships within 1-3 days1